Jersey celebrate in Alderney

Cassidy names 24-man squad as Jersey bid for four trophies in next two months

Tim Pryor
Jersey manager Martin Cassidy confirms his 24-man squad

Jersey manager Martin Cassidy has confirmed his 24-man squad for the island’s busy schedule of fixtures over the next two months, which will see the men’s side compete for four trophies before hosting a professional league outfit from England.

The provisional squad, which could be added to or adjusted because of injuries, includes Ruben Mendes, who is yet to make a senior first team appearance for the island. Experienced central defender Stuart Andre also features.

All 15 of the team that travelled to Alderney for the recent 2-0 Muratti semi-final victory have retained their places.

“With some club matches still remaining and a lot of games in a short space of time it’s important to make sure we are covered and always have a strong squad for every game,” said Cassidy.

“The door isn’t closed to other players and if we get any injuries then I can pick from the JFA under-21s players if needed. We’re in a strong position with at least two players for each position so I’m happy with the commitment and quality of this squad.

“We’re building a strong JFA squad and management team and football is moving in the right direction.”

Jersey will take on the British Army on Liberation Day in the final of the Southern Counties Cup Competition before travelling to Guernsey for the Muratti Vase final. The side will then face Ireland and Northern Ireland representatives sides along with Middlesex Wanderers in the Jacksons International Trophy at Springfield ahead of the Inter Games in Ynys Mon.

Squad in full:

Euan van der Vliet, Harry Curtis, Jay Giles, Jonny Le Quesne, Adam Trotter, Jack Boyle, Michael Weir, Zeljko Martinovic, Craig Russell, Kieran Lester, Stuart Andre, Fraser Barlow, Jack Cannon (all St Paul’s), Danny Birrell, James Queree, Kamen Nafkha (all JTC Jersey Wanderers), Luke Campbell, Ruben Mendes, Harry Cardwell, Calvin Weir, Sol Solomon, Karl Hinds (all St Peter), George Glithero (Rozel Rovers) and Connor O’Shea (St Clement).

Photo with thanks to David Nash