Republic of Ireland champions 1

Republic of Ireland lift trophy after win over Jersey

Tim Pryor
The Republic of Ireland beat hosts Jersey 2-0 to win the Jacksons International Trophy.

The Republic of Ireland were crowned champions of the inaugural Jacksons International Trophy tournament, after a 2-0 win over hosts Jersey at Springfield.

Both sides had gone into the last game of the four-team event with hopes of lifting the trophy, with Jersey needing a win to claim the title and the Irish amateur representative side knowing a draw would be enough for them.

It was the visitors who started the brightest, winning a series of corners, one of which was headed home by Adam Foley just before the ten minute mark.

At the other end Michael Weir’s scuffed shot was nearly flicked in by Karl Hinds at the far post but his effort went just wide as Martin Cassidy’s men went in search of an equaliser. Chances were few and far between though for the home side.

The Republic of Ireland looked strong, and doubled their lead on 34 minutes when Euan van der Vliet parried Craig Walsh’s free kick and Enda Curran reacted quickest to fire in from close range.

Jersey looked more comfortable on the ball in the second period, and went close to reducing the deficit when Hinds curled a lovely effort from the edge of the area but saw it bounce clear off the inside of the upright.

Neither team was able to create any real momentum as the game wore on, with injuries and multiple substitutions breaking up the flow of the contest, and the Irish saw out the game to make it three wins from three during the week.

Republic of Ireland v Jersey

Earlier in the day Middlesex Wanderers picked up their first win of the tournament with a 2-1 victory over Northern Ireland's amateurs. D’Sean Theobald’s penalty and Dernell Wynter’s strike put Wanderers two ahead, but Nathaniel Ferris pulled one back for Northern Ireland with an effort that hit both posts before creeping over the line.

Jacksons International Trophy - Final Standings

Pos Team   Dif Pts 
 1  Republic of Ireland  3  3  0 4  9
 2  Middlesex W  3  1  1  1  4  4  4
 3 Jersey  3  1  1  1  2  3  -1  4
 4 Northern Ireland  3  0  0  0  3  6  -3  0

Photos: With thanks to Adrian Topley

Jersey: Euan Van der Vliet, Harry Curtis, Jack Cannon, Connor O’Shea, Luke Campbell, Kame Nafkha, Michael Weir, Adam Trotter, Karl Hinds, Jake Prince, Calvin Weir.

Subs: Danny Birrell, Jay Giles, Sol Solomon, George Glithero, Kieran Lester, Fraser Barlow, Craig Russell.

Republic of Ireland: Brendan O’Connell (c), Christopher Higgins, Sean Guerins, Gary Delaney, Peter Doherty, Jordan Buckley, Adam Foley, Craig Walsh, Thomas Hyland, Enda Curran, Eoin Hayes.

Subs: (from) Mark Power, David McGrath, Christopher McCarthy, Niall Brennan, Kieran McDaid, Darren Craven, Jimmy Carr, Shane Ryan, Shane Clarke.

Attendance: 198