Player of the Season Awards 2019 Credit Jersey Events - version 2

JFA Combination Awards 2019-20: Shortlists announced for end of season awards

Nominees confirmed in each category for end of season recognition

Clubs have been voting for the JFA Combination League player of the season in a number of categories, and the shortlists have today been announced.

Three players are in the running for each award, with the winners due to be announced at a yet-to-be-confirmed later date.

Logan McGhee, who earned a representative call up during the course of the 2019-20 campaign, is one of the contenders in the Jacksons Premiership category. He netted 15 times for champions JTC Jersey Wanderers, 6 fewer than St Ouen striker Jake Prince. Fellow nominee Jamie Savory (Sporting Academics) is also among the top scorers in the island's top division,

The two Guernsey clubs in the Condor Ferries CI Women’s League were not eligible to vote as they had not played against all of the teams. Players from those two clubs, Guernsey Ladies and North, were however eligible for selection in the vote.

St Ouen are well represented, with two players (Ryan Le Cornu & Max Simon) on the shortlist in the Jacksons Championship category, along with St John’s Jack Hardisty.

The top three in each section, in alphabetical order by surname, are shown below:

Jacksons Premiership

  • Logan McGhee (JTC Jersey Wanderers)
  • Jake Prince (St Ouen)
  • Jamie Savory (Sporting Academics)

Jacksons Championship

  • Jack Hardisty (St John)
  • Ryan Le Cornu (St Ouen)
  • Max Simon (St Ouen)

Condor Ferries Channel Islands Women’s League

  • Ciara Giles (Rozel Rovers)
  • Lucinda Overbury (Grouville)
  • Sam Silva (JTC Jersey Wanderers)

Jacksons Under 18 Division

  • Jay Dos Santos (St Clement)
  • Toby Ritzema (St Peter)
  • Olly Rivers (St Paul’s)

The shortlist for the referee of the season category has also been confirmed. The list is compiled using the ratings that teams provide after each fixture, with referees eligible if they have officiated 12 or more senior matches.

Referee Shortlist

  • Richard Dyer
  • Mark Le Cornu
  • Andy Norman

Due to the coronavirus outbreak, no date or format has yet been set for the end-of-season awards ceremony, at which the winners of the above categories are traditionally announced along with the JEP golden boot trophy presentations.